Delicious picture

shankins123
10 years ago

Please see post on yellowing tomato leaves...Sharon

Comments (7)

• Erod1
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

They look to me like theyve been burned by whatever you sprayed on them. Im no expert by any means, that is just a guess.

Emma

• shankins123
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Actually, they were doing this long before the spray.
    It's not accelerated it on the ones that were already affected, and the tops of all of my plants are healthy and still green.

???

• slowpoke_gardener
    10 years ago

Shankins, I don't see too well, but is that ground cracked? Are they getting enough water and light? I have too much yellowing also, mine started before they were planted. I think some of my problem was from having to hold them too long in the flats. I had a very crazy spring.

Larry

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    10 years ago

Sharon,

I don't know what it is. My heart says it has to be something fungal, but that is just a gut feeling. However, it also could be nothing more than the normal aging of a maturing plant.

It is normal for older leaves at the bottom of the plant to yellow and drop off over time. This is because the plant is continually pushing nitrogen to the new growth so it will thrive and continue to produce foliage and fruit. It also occurs because heavy upper foliage shades the lower foliage, denying it sunlight either partially or completely. So, that part of the yellowing foliage sounds typical. I don't necessarily see any spotting that I recognize as a bacterial or fungal disease, but then I would only recognize something my plants have had and something that has been identified for me in the past. To get an accurate diagnosis, you need someone trained in disease diagnosis.