Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mccutchan_gw

Is this Rose of Sharon

McCutchan
9 years ago

Do glad to have found this forum. I am new to Midwest gardening (lived my whole life in a zone 2-3 area!). I am slowly identifying the plants, shrubs and trees at my new house, but can't figure out what this is. This spring it started as a gangly set of branches and has slowly began filling out. This picture was taken last month. The shrub is huge now! I thought the leaves looked like pictures I have seen if Rose of Sharon, but I haven't seen any blooms yet so I not sure. Any idea??

Comments (15)

• chickencoupe
    9 years ago

Those leaves look very much like my mature rose of sharon. I'm not familiar with the growth pattern at this age. Do you have more than one plant going on there?

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    9 years ago

Looks Like Rose-of Sharon (Hibiscus syriacus) to me!

Linda

• McCutchan
    Original Author
    9 years ago

It's just one plant. It's a large gangly looking shrub that needs some pruning! It's even bigger than this now! Wasn't sure if it was ok to prune now or if I needed to wait until spring or fall time frame?

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    9 years ago

I dont know. my Althea, just what we have always called them, has more rounded leaves. similar but noticeably different. Mine are about 30 years old so dont know if that makes a difference or not.

Mike

• chickencoupe
    9 years ago

Not sure if pruning it now would hurt it. Hopefully, someone will come a long with a little more experience. Like Mike, mine are very old and I don't think anything would kill it at this point. Mine were kept pruned and look like trees now. I really enjoy their constant blooms in the height of summer when everything else seems dead. I prefer to prune mine in fall, but I don't think it would matter for mine any more.