Return to the Oklahoma Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to Harvest Banana Peppers?

Posted by susanlynne48 OKC7a (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 15, 08 at 9:50

I have some itty bitties on my plants about 2" long. I am wondering how large they should get before I harvest them. I am a total pepper novice.

Susan

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to Harvest Banana Peppers?

Susan,

Sweet Banana Peppers usually get 6" to 8" long and their color changes from a slightly greenish/pale yellow to a deeper yellow to orange to red. You can harvest them anytime you want once they are close to their mature length. Many people harvest them while they are still a pale yellow but I think the longer you leave them on the plant the sweeter they taste.

Sometimes, though not always, you will see very faint, very pale purple streaks on your peppers and those streaks go away as the peppers ripen too.

If you can remember when the fruit first set, you should have "ripe" banana peppers 70-85 days later, depending on whether you have the standard Sweet Banana pepper variety or Banana Supreme or whichever.

Dawn

o

I am just an average fan of peppers, and have grown a few banana peppers in the past because of how nice they produce and look (I give them away). I have never cared for the taste. Last year I let the last ones turn totally red and they were excellent when I tasted them. It's kind of expensive to buy them and wait until they are red to eat, but the taste to me is worth it.

o

Scott,

I agree that the red ones taste best, and I feel the same way about bell peppers--I like to let them turn orange or red before I harvest them, although sometimes I'll harvest the lilac, purple or chocolate colored ones while they are that color just to add that specific color to a salad.