Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
okienurse

Lessons learned from my garden

okienurse
11 years ago

So, this is my first year back to gardening. Granted it's a small backyard garden, but it sure is a stress reliever and the quiet time outside in the garden is just what I need after being at work all day.

This year, I'm counting as a season of learning about things in the garden that I never thought to care about. I'm reading up on soil, and temperature and diseases and viruses and I'm as confused as ever, but trying to mentally prepare for next year.

The plants I have on the side of the house are growing well and there are tons of green tomatoes out there, but now as they are getting to breaking color, I have BER on them...sigh. Reading about it today, I discover I should have done more to prevent it in the beginning, but I had never really heard of it before. So, lesson learned...and probably no veggie garden in that side bed in the future...it's not very good soil...or work on amending it for next year. My squash plants over there are growing out of the bed and cascading over...beautiful foliage, maybe two squash...ugh. Had tons of blossoms earlier, but no squash...shaking my head...

In the back garden, the plants all survived whatever was crisping their leaves up...there is still a few crispy type leaves, but the plants themselves have gotten healthier and bigger since mulching them. The okra is starting to bloom and I'm getting a few pods here and there, but there are a ton about to come out, so I'm ready and checking every day.