Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amunk01

What is ruining my Supersweet 100 fruit?

amunk01
10 years ago

Ok, I'm a newbie but I cannot figure out what is causing these brown rings all over my tomatoes? This plant was purchased at a local co-op, planted 4-8. Its over 6ft now but has grown spindly with very stunted leaf growth. Flower production/fruit set has been pretty good but the birds got the first dozen and now this is happening to all of them. I've pulled a fruitworm off of it, and I have lots of yellow striped Armyworms, even a hornworm or two but I have not witnessed any of these pest doing this type of damage. Also none of my other plants have these rings on their fruit (although these pest are garden-wide)? If its disease I don't want it spreading! The damage looks like someone took a marker and just made doodles and looptiloos (is that a word?) everywhere.. Anyway, any thoughts would be appreciated! :)

Comments (20)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

It is hard to say. I appreciate that you gave us a wide variety of the fruit to look at, and that you included foliage as well. Great job of showing us what you're seeing!!! The photo is good, but a close up of one fruit might be helpful. Whatever it is, I don't think I've ever seen anything like that on small tomatoes.

It can take time to diagnose a tomato plant issue because many diseases and disorders look almost identical to each other, so please don't be frustrated if it takes a couple of days and many people's minds to figure out what is wrong.