Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilokiegardener

Curling Leaves on Tomatoes

lilokiegardener
12 years ago

Ive noticed that some of my cherry tomato plants' leaves are beginning to curl under.. This is my first time trying to really grow tomatoes of any kind, but I looked under the leaves to see if I saw any bugs or disease, but I don't see anything that looks abnormal.

I have been watering them in the mornings before it gets really hot, and making sure the soil doesn't get too dry.

They have flowered some but not produced any fruit.

Any ideas or suggestions?

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    12 years ago

Your plants likely are suffering from physiological leaf roll. At this time of year, the primary cause of physiological leaf roll is heat stress and/or moisture stress. Although it can be caused by soil that is too dry, it also can be caused by soil that is too moist. Just try to keep your soil evenly moist and hope and pray for better weather.

The poor fruit set is usually caused by the heat. Sometimes with bite-sized tomatoes, you'll continue to get fruitset even at very high temperatures, but other times you won't. In general, once daytime temps are exceeding 92-95 degrees (it differs from one variety to another) and nighttime lows are exceeding 72-85, fruit set on tomatoes ceases or is very sporadic. All you can do is try to keep the plants healthy and hope for a cool spell.

The droughe this year is really hard on everything, and hardest of all at this point on tomatoes.

• lilokiegardener
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for that info! I knew a little about the heat causing issues with not fruiting, but the rest was pretty new.

I did accidentally let the soil dry out once, but it wasn't as hot as it has been recently.. and I certainly try to make sure that the soil is moist, but not saturated. I think I water every other day because of the heat.