Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
denise_duffy

Green Bean Issues

Denise Duffy
11 years ago

Some of my green bean plants are beginning to drop leaves, and some of the green beans are turning white. Produced well first part of the summer, but with the heat here in SW Oklahoma, things are beginning to change. I have read that this could be rust, or pythium blight, or powdery mildew. My questions:

Are fungicides safe for consumption?

Does this affect the soil for fall or later planting?

Can I simply just pull out all plants and it will take care of the problem?

Any help with this would be appreciated. I'm new to planting green beans. Thanks, Denise

Comments (8)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Denise,

Welcome to the exciting world of gardening in this hot and dry state. You know, sometimes it isn't as hard as it is this year (and last year).

In order to provide answers to your questions, we need answers to these questions:

Do the leaves turn from green to either yellow or tan/brown before they drop?

Look at the green beans that are turning white. Are they exposed to full sun because the leaves are dropping off? Also, are they full-sized and looking 'lumpy' with beans inside or are they still young and thin? Are the bead pods bleaching out white from being green previously or do they have a dry, white talcum powder-like growth on the outside of the green pods or foliage? (If so, that is powdery mildew.)