Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenveggielover

Fig suggestions?

greenveggielover
10 years ago

Hi everyone--- new poster here, from South Central OK. I'm hoping to get a suggestion or two of what variety of fig trees will do well in So. OK, and what people's experiences have been with growing them. I hope to plant 2 or 3 once the weather cools down in the fall. I love reading all your posts about your gardens, and (although I'm pretty new to gardening) I look forward to joining you.

Comments (5)

• mulberryknob
    10 years ago

I have had a passalong fig for over 20 years. I was told it was Brown Turkey. This year it is loaded with the secondary crop after the first one frosted out. I also have Desert King and Kadota that I overwintered in 18 gallon pots in the greenhouse and they are both bearing too. I will put them in the ground this fall. I am in z 6b, but the last two years the temps have been more z7. There is one called Chicago that is supposed to be very cold hardy.

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    10 years ago

Brown Turkey, which seems to be to be pretty much the same one also sold as Texas Everbearing, is the one that has done best for me here in southcentral OK. Celeste is another one often recommended for our climate. I haven't grown Chicago Hardy, but it is supposed to be very cold hardy.

I have had mine in pots for three years, but now have one in a pot so it can go into the greenhouse and the other one is in the ground in well-drained soil.

Some years when we have a sudden very cold spell early in winter before the temperatures have really cooled down very much, you may see parts of the fig tree freeze back. Even if it freezes back to the ground, it comes back fast from the roots. Keeping it well mulched in winter helps keep the roots warmer.