Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shankins123_gw

Abu Rawan tomato??

shankins123
11 years ago

Has anyone grown this one? It seems like a good one for our heat.

Sharon

Here is a link that might be useful: Abu Rawan tomato

Comments (14)

• chickencoupe
    11 years ago

Very interesting. I would like to try it. Do not underestimate Oklahoma's heat, though. The middle east cools down in early evenings unlike our round-the-clock heat depending on that year's season and also geographical location. In many places in the middle east one need only shade as there is a cool breeze fairly constantly. When the sun is removed in the early evening it is blissful. Oklahoma? Not so much.

My experience was in Jordan which may be a tad cooler than many places in Iraq.

So, I'm not experienced but Dawn suggests tomatoes need cool evening weather to set fruit? Anyone have any thoughts on this? I checked the current weather in that city at 3am it was 104 degrees. Maybe they'll be fine. Very curious, indeed. Only one way to find out!

Abu = "Fater of"
    Rawan = Male name

"Named for the onetime caretaker of the greenhouses at the Agricultural College at Al Ghraib"

• shankins123
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I thought it looked interesting, too...thanks for your thoughts!

Sharon

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago