Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
devilwoman_gw

Is my apricot tree 'bleeding'?

devilwoman
15 years ago

The apricot tree in my backyard has several "globs" on the trunk. Some of them are quarter-size and even larger. They are not perfectly circular but rather a little elongated. Whatever the stuff is, it's a dark amber color and slightly sticky to touch. Some of these globs extend away from the tree trunk around a quarter inch. Otherwise, the tree seems okay - no dead branches I can see, beautiful green foliage. The apricots are long since gone, but it did produce quite a few earlier in the season. I have no experience with fruit trees, and while I'm no fan of apricots I do really like the tree. Is this an indication of some problem with it or is this normal?

Comments (30)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Debra,

Are there little holes bored into the wood underneath those blobs? If so, you probably have borers in your trunk. Borers are a common pest on some types of fruit trees. OR, are their vertical cracks in the trunk and is the sap oozing out of them? In that case, you tree has may have experienced rapid growth that led to some splitting of the bark accompanied by a little oozing. OR, if it is a fairly young tree, it is not liking the sunlight (young trees have more tender bark and that bark can scald) OR if it used to be more shaded than it is now--say, by a tree that no longer exists or which was heavily pruned--and the trunk is reacting to the new amount of sunlight it has to deal with. Without looking at the tree, I'd automatically guess borers though. Look under the sap for holes or cracks and let me know what you see.

Dawn

• devilwoman
    Original Author
    15 years ago