Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mccutchan_gw

Bursting tomatoes?

McCutchan
9 years ago

This is my first year growing tomatoes and I'm not having a ton of luck! My large tomatoes are all bursting when they get ripe. My guess is it has something to do with watering although it almost looks like they have bites out of them!! Am I letting them get too dry between waterings? How frequently do you water your tomatoes?

Comments (5)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    9 years ago

That looks more like birds are pecking the fruit or some other animal is nibbling them. When this sort of damage appears, it usually is an indicator that there's poor water availability for the wildlife so they are attacking your tomatoes to get water. To some extent, you can stop this damage by putting a bird bath or flat, shallow pans of water in the garden near the tomato plants to give the birds, squirrels and other wild things something to drink

You also can pick the tomatoes as soon as they develop the first flush of color, what is commonly referred to as the breaker stage. I harvest all my tomatoes at breaker stage and let them finish ripening up indoors on the kitchen counter precisely to get them indoors before birds, squirrels, turtles, caterpillars, stink bugs, etc. can ruin them. I'l link a USDA chart below that shows the breaker stage. One interesting thing I have learned is that tomatoes picked at the breaker stage ripen more quickly indoors than outdoors. Also, just in case you are worried about picking them early affecting their flavor---it doesn't. They still taste great.