Return to the Oklahoma Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
my garden update

Posted by sorie6 6b ok. (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 20, 14 at 18:44

If you remember the rocks and all the Bermuda in my post(What would you do?)
Rocks are sunflower garden and round area is a new pergola garden. thank for looking. I'll have to put pic on 2 posts.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: my garden update

I love thesunflowers. I've never grow any this big!! Still enjoying learning Ok gardening.
DH painted the stones around the pergola!

o

That is beautiful! Great work! You just reminded me I need to go pluck the heads off mine for seed saving.

bon

o

Sorie, your sunflowers are beautiful. This is my first year of growing the large sunflowers also. Mine are a little behind yours, but most are starting to hang their heads. I expect that is from the seed pods getting heavier. If I plant them again I will not place them under something else.

Larry

photo DSCN1854_zps9d8e5051.jpg

o

This was a couple weeks ago. I just harvested the large heads in this area. These bloomed first. They were volunteers (go figure). I probably dropped them. The poly-headed sunflower surprised me.

Little Miss' sunflower hut never happened. They were planted. Many succumbed to disease. Others didn't. The diseased ones came back. They're all there but uneven in height.

Sunflowers will always be in my garden. When I brought in the heads and showed Little Miss she asked me if we could grow more from them. She was delighted.

Sunflowers = happy. :D

o

When do you cut them off?
I'm experimenting covering them so the birds can't get them and they can grow to maturity. Any suggestions what to cover them with? Thanks.

o

oops. Sorry forgot to post other pic of garden

o

Wow. That is gorgeous!

o

Beautiful. I would really enjoy that....Thanks for the inspiration
added to my list of things to do.
kim

o