Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hazelinok

Pumpkins!

hazelinok
9 years ago

Hi I am new here. I am also fairly new to gardening.

We moved to our 1.12 acres about 3 months ago. We weren't planning on doing much of a garden this year, but my son asked if we could grow pumpkins. Sure...anything to get a boy off the video games and into the outdoors! So, we quickly dug up three pumpkin mounds and planted 10 seeds. They were planted at the end of May. They are Connecticut Field. They are growing nicely (for the most part) and I just saw a few female blossoms tonight!

However, one plant is sick. It's covered with green stuff. Aphids? My first questions: should I just leave that plant alone--sort of a sacrificial plant. Or cut the sick part off? I'm scared of pesticides as I've read about what they do to bees and the environment. Will the sickness spread to the other plants? How does that usually work or is there a "usual"?

My second problem. I wasn't thinking clearly when we dug up the mounds. I spaced them well (although I have 3 or 4 plants in each mound), but didn't dig up the grass in between the mounds. We have been lifting up the vine and mowing under them. That was my plan until I realized that once the fruit grows, I won't be able to do that-they'll be too heavy. Have I messed up?

We also planted sunflowers, squash, zucchini, radishes, and cucumbers. I'm sure I'll be back with more questions! Everything is coming in later than most folks stuff, as we planted from seed and didn't get them in the ground until June 1.

I'm continually amazed at the process of putting little seeds into the ground and now having vegetables and a beautiful yellow sunflower.

Comments (27)

• chickencoupe
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Congrats! I planted pumpkin for the kids, too. Hey, I don't know what it is on your plant, but I can say the OSU Fall Planting Guide recommends planting pumpkins no later than July 30. Seems many of us started last month. You're good!