Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
benjamin_js

bell pepper "problem"

benjamin_js
10 years ago

Hey everyone, this is my first year gardening and I'm having this issue with almost every bell pepper. Could someone tell me what the black spot is?

Comments (4)

• MiaOKC
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Maybe Blossom End Rot?

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    10 years ago

It could be Blossom End Rot, but there also are other reasons you might see those black spots develop on peppers. Some of those reasons are readily explained and some aren't.

If it is Blossom End Rot, you did not necessarily do anything to cause it and, based on the weather seen across much of OK this summer, it likely developed because of excess rainfall. BER is more common on tomatoes, but also develops on peppers and eggplant, and is related to how the vascular system of the plants distributes water throughout the plants, including the fruits. BER is often mischaracterized as being caused by a shortage of calcium, but that is an oversimplification of why it develops. It has more to do with fluctuating moisture levels and their effect on the operation of the plants' vascular system and how that then affects the distribution of calcium within the plant.

Peppers are prone to getting black spots like that for several reasons, and part of the following explanation will be quite unsatisfactory.