Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
okiedawn1

Winter Tomatoes

Okiedawn OK Zone 7
16 years ago

I am looking at wonderful, healthy, flowering fall tomatoes and am anticipating a very good fall tomato season, assmuming we don't have either a blizzard or a hurricane here in Love County in September or October! That is wonderful news and is made possible by the fact that it is absolutely, positively NOT raining here, which makes it perfect tomato weather. (Isn't that sad!)

However, I am looking down the road and knowing these gorgeous plants will freeze in a couple of months, unless we have one of those years where the first freeze doesn't come until December....but even then, they WILL freeze at some point....and, then, no more tomatoes.

So, I am going to try something which I have never done before. I am going to try growing winter tomatoes in pots. I know that I won't get a heavy yield, and I know that winter tomatoes do not taste as good as warm-season tomatoes because they need heat to fully develop their flavors....but anything would be better than grocery store tomatoes.

Of course, for this to have even a slender chance of working, I need to plant determinate plants in pots that I can carry into the garage, screened-in back porch, or house once the nights get cold.

These are the plants I am going to try:

Orange Pixie VFT Hybrid: This is a determinate that is almost small enough to be considered a dwarf. It produces yellow-orange cherry-type fruit that have a meaty orange flesh and excellent flavor (at least it is excellent in good weather....time will tell if it is excellent if grown indoors in the winter). DTM is 52 days.

Red Robin: A dwarf tomato bred for containers. Plants only get 8-12" tall and bear 1.25" red fruit with a sweet, mild flavor. I have seen several of these plants grown in one window box that is carried inside in cold weather and outside on warm days. DTM is 55 days. (I have grown this one before, but only in the regular tomato season.)