Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carmen_peterson

New to forums

Carmen Peterson
11 years ago

Hello to all!

I am new to these forums and have found it very helpful. I just has a second bed built yesterday and can't wait to put in my first fall/winter garden. I know I am running a bit late from some but it is all good. Look forward to getting to know you all better

Comments (8)

• elkwc
    11 years ago

Carmen,
    Welcome to the forum. You will find it very friendly and usually someone who has experience with a problem willing to offer good advice many times from personal experience. There are a wide range or growers from veggies, flowers to pecans. Then there is me who on occasion likes to try to baffle others with my BS. LOL. Hope you stay a long time and enjoy your stay as much as I have since I found this group. Jay

• chickencoupe
    11 years ago

Hi Carmen! What are you planting for your fall/winter garden?

My family loves the brassicas. So, that's my attempt. I'm new to gardening so I can only plant and wait. lol

bon

• Shelley Smith
    11 years ago

Hi Carmen, and welcome! I'm fairly new here myself, but this is a terrific group. I have learned so much from everyone here.

This year I am going to try to keep my garden going through the winter. I read The Year Round Vegetable Gardener by Niki Jabbour and found it quite inspiring. I'm going to plant lots of lettuce and spinach, sugar snap peas, beets and carrots, garlic, radish, green onion and kale. Hopefully the peas will produce before it gets too late in the fall, and I'd like to keep the carrots and beets in the ground so I can harvest them as I use them throughout the winter. The greens, green onion, radish and garlic I will keep going through the winter using cold frames (which I will start building as soon as it cools off).

• shankins123
    11 years ago

Hi, Carmen!

Glad to have you here :~)

Remember a few things...there are no stupid questions..ever.