Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grn_grl

Preserving the harvest. What's your favorite method?

grn_grl
12 years ago

Hey y'all I'm a newbie here but I've been loving the posts lately about preserving our harvests. I just wanted to know what your favorite method is. I've tried it all. I did a lot of canning last year but haven't done any yet this year because my yields were down, AND because I'm in love with my dehydrator. I can do small batches of multiple veggies and it is so much more kid friendly for the time I have available to preserve. I put dehydrated veggies into winter soups and sauces and am really pleased with the results. I also freeze produce (lots of pesto this year! Yay!) but I use the ziplock vacuum seal system instead of the food saver vacuum seal system because my food saver didn't last more than two seasons and it's just too expensive to replace all the time. Oh and i use those awesome ball freezer containers too. I'd love any advice you have or tips on what you have found that works.

Comments (12)

• redding
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hey, grn-girl.
    When it comes to food preservation, two things are tops on my list. Safety, and quality. Even the slightest risk from botulism is too much risk for me. All non-acid veggies go in the freezer and only jams, pickles and so on are canned. I've found that even some of the really fragile fruits can be frozen if it's done in a very light syrup with FruitFresh added. Things like figs will not be exactly like fresh, but they handle it a lot better than you'd think, and they are so much better than the canned product you'd buy in a store.. Blackberries and raspberries are spread on a cookie sheet to freeze individually before being bagged. Pecans or walnuts are oven roasted before being frozen. It brings up the flavor and helps preserve them as well.