Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cityboygonecountry

When can I start trying to root some roses?

cityboygonecountry
16 years ago

This will be my first attempt. I'm going to be using one gallon pots filled with peatmoss and perlite, covered with plastic bags with holes punched for circulation.

Is it too hot right now?

Comments (8)

• susanlynne48
    16 years ago

The only roses you can root are those that are grown on their own root stock - which is not very many. Other roses are "grafted" and I don't believe they'll grow the same on their own root stock. Dawn or somebody with a lot of rose experience can tell you more about it, but I didn't want you to get your hopes up unless you're trying to propagate something like a rugosa that grows on it's own roots.

Susan

• rjj1
    16 years ago

First, let me say I'm not a rose expert. I don't have any. But I'm under the impression some growers are going back to cutting grown plants for a couple reasons. Cuttings will always be true unlike plants that sucker below the graft and they are less labor intensive to reproduce. It's a lot easier for me to root a cutting of many different plants than it is to graft them.

I do graft Adeniums because I want a fat rootstock to grow my clone on. Cutting grown Adeniums don't grow a fat caudex.

It might be a little hot right now to root roses. If it were mine, I might try to root a few in a week or two. I would definitely try a bunch in late spring / early summer though. The many different species of plants I root cuttings of have good percentages and tend to root quicker then.

randy

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    16 years ago