Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jmccanne

Garden Pest Problem

JMcCanne
11 years ago

Hello-

I'm new to this forum, and I'm hoping ya'll can help me. I lost two trees this year to carpenter ants and now I'm having some trouble in my garden too. I planted a sky pencil holly and an azalea at the corner of my garden. They were both doing great and then both died suddenly, even with watering. This afternoon I pulled up the dead azalea and found all these bugs crawling around in the soil. I saw beetles, ants and a brown bug that I can't identify. It looks like a brown beetle, no wings. I'm rather new to gardening, so I don't know what is normal to have crawling around on the roots of plants and in the soil.

I plan on taking a soil sample to OSU to have it tested and I also poured some diatomaceous earth into the ground where the azalea was.

Any suggestions or advice?

Thank you

Jenni

Comments (5)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Jenni,

Welcome to the forum.

First of all, let's clear up the misconception that carpenter ants kill trees. They do not. They move into trees that have become stressed and ill and already have decay or rot inside, and sometimes once they are in there they even will tunnel into the heartwood of the tree. But they are just a symptom that the tree was dying and they took advantage of that and moved in. Most trees are dying inside before you see external symptoms. Just because we are in Oklahoma and I know what our weather has been like the last two summers, I suspect it is most likely that drought stress or heat stress killed your trees.

You didn't say what kind of trees they were, and knowing that will help in regards to understand why a seemingly healthy tree died. If they happen to be oaks, I have a good idea what got them. Actually, I have a couple.