Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newokie1019

gleaning?

newokie1019
11 years ago

Hello all,

We just moved to the Oklahoma City area and I was hoping to find a farm that would allow us to pick our own produce or glean, since I am not prepared to start a garden until next spring. (And I am totally new to the whole gardening thing, so I am expecting to kill everything for a few years until I get the hang of it...) However, I haven't been having much luck with my internet search - so far the only places I've found either don't have contact info or are permanently closed! (Well, I take that back - there are some that only have produce that are done for the season, like berries.) Does anyone know of a farm in or near Oklahoma City that has apples, pears, etc that allow picking? Or anyone have an elderly neighbor that would let us pick in exchange for cash or a part of the harvest? Or anyone have extra that they would let us harvest? Thanks so much for any ideas in advance!

Comments (3)

• GeneTheNewGuy
    11 years ago

I saw a few places listed recently in Craigslist. It was maybe a month ago. Sometimes in the newspaper Daily Oklahoman in the classifieds there will be a category called, I think IIRC, food basket or something like that. And IIRC I think you will see that on a Friday or Saturday paper.

Oh and you might go down to the Farmers Market at OSU 4th and Portland and ask around. Only open on Saturday from 8am to 1pm. Ask a lot of the vendors, and ask to speak to the man who runs the show down there.

You might contact the Urban Harvest at the Regional Food Bank. They might be able to advise you of some places that allow it.

Please let us know what you find out.

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago

After this long, hot and very dry summer, I am not sure if there will be anyone that has enough of anything left to glean.