Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
slowpoke_gardener

sweet potato container flop

This is my first time to try to grow a veggie in a container. I planted 4 slips in a large black contained with garden soil, compost and shaving in it. I did not want to invest in any potting soil when I have more space than I need, but wanted to try a way of growing potatoes and harvesting without digging.

I took the container to the garden to dump it and harvest what few roots might be in it. The roots were small, if I try this again I will try less compost, more water, and a little shade for the black container.

Larry

Comments (5)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    9 years ago

Larry, I grew sweet potatoes in a 4' diameter, 3' deep galvanized cattle water trough filled with a soil-less growing mix to which I had added quite a lot of sand (so the growing mix wouldn't be too rich) a few years back, and got a yield like yours with lots of long skinny potatoes. .When I grew the same varieties in the ground in poor sandy soil which had been only moderately well-amended about a decade before, I got huge sweet potatoes, so I am inclined to think the compost/garden soil/shaving mix might have been too fertile even if you didn't fertilize. At least that is what I figured out about my sweet potatoes grown in a large container. I also might have watered them too much because it was a hot, drought year (when is it not?) and I worried and fretted that I wasn't keeping them well-watered.

I haven't dug this year's potatoes yet and likely won't dig them until October at the earliest. You are so far ahead of me. At the rate I am getting things done (or, actually, not getting them done), I won't even be starting the garden clean-up for another month.

Generally small potatoes still taste good (as long as their texture isn't stringy).

Dawn

• slowpoke_gardener
    Original Author
    9 years ago