Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melissia_gw

Greenhouse going well

melissia
11 years ago

We started early... A little too early, I think, because we've battled worms and grasshoppers. But all in all it's going great. I did haven to pull some lettuce plants yesterday as I guess the heat made them bitter, but it's still not to late to replant : )

Comments (5)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago

Melissia,

It looks great!

Most of my cold-season crops are in the ground but some are in molasses feed tubs I can move into the greenhouse after the weather cools off a little more. I'll just put low tunnels with floating row covers over the in-ground winter crops when it is starting to get really cold. I've been growing in molasses feed tubs for about 10 years now and, if I'd known how much easier it would be than improving dense red clay soil, I might have started out only with containers and never broken the ground.

I've battled grasshoppers all summer, but in the winter veggie garden they haven't bothered anything too much, except for the sugar snap peas and the wild garden kale. They demolished the sugar snap peas and some of the wild garden kale, but the peas are trying to make a comeback and regrow, and I planted lacinato kale plants where the wild garden kale had been and so far the grasshoppers haven't bothered it.

I have tons of cole crops planted in the garden and only found the first caterpiller damage yesterday, so plan to spray them with Bt today. I haven't seen the moths around, but since the cabbage worms are here, obviously the moths have been here.