Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seeker1122

Canning quest

seeker1122
9 years ago

I've looked everywhere and of course no strait answers.
Can I use a red hot candy recipie for cucumbers on green tomatoes.

I'm so broke this holiday season a quick pickle with red hot or candied would be good gifts for me to give.

Lots of deaths in the family this year so I added a new family household to visit this season.

They all grew up on fresh garden food so I know they will love it.

I also want to do a quick easy candied jalapeno for my brother I got that off the internet does it work and taste good.

thank. l Yall rock and Happy days.

Tree

Comments (3)

• AmyinOwasso/zone 6b
    9 years ago

Someone here can probably answer, (I have no experience here) but some one on the harvest forum can probably answer.

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    9 years ago

Tree,

I agree with Amy that you need to ask these questions on the Harvest Forum so the canning experts there can respond. The food preservers over there have an amazing wealth of knowledge and experience and can answer your questions.

With the use of green tomatoes in a recipe intended for and safety-tested for cucumbers, take into consideration that cucumbers and tomatoes have a different pH, which might be a safety issue. The folks at the Harvest Forum can address that. I've never made pickles with the red hot cinnamon candies so cannot comment on whether that recipe could be used with green tomatoes instead.....anything I said would just be a guess, and even though I do a lot of food preservation, I'm certainly not a canning expert. I've only used red hots with either apples or pears in an approved recipe.