Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mctowler

options for ugly sweet potatoes?

mctowler
12 years ago

Hi all,

I'm still in my rookie year of gardening but I was able to grow some sweet potatoes this past year. We had a few left that my wife is baking with today. I'm now left with about 20 small sweet potatoes (think golf-ball size to tennis-ball size). They are odd shapes and most have some kind of scratch or nick or gouged out area on the outside of them.

The wife isn't too keen on cooking those so I'm wondering if I can save them for use in Garden 2012? OR, do they just go in the compost pile? Or, is there another option.

I have a photo, but not sure how to post it.

Thanks in advance and Happy Thanksgiving!

Comments (10)

• slowpoke_gardener
    12 years ago

Cottontop, I am a rookie to. My very small sized sweet potatoes (carrot sized) we save for the dog, he loves them.
    Any size I eat raw (I don't know how healthy that is, but I ant dead yet).

Last year I took the sprouted end off 2 or 3 and potted in the window in a plastic rain gutter. I got enough slips from those to produce about 6 cu. ft. of potatoes this year, well over a 100LBS. If I have a potato that has a small chewed spot on it, I just cut it out when I am peeling it and eat it like it was a perfect potato.

I have never saved a gulf ball sized potato, those are the ones eaten first while I am sitting around watching T.V.

Larry

• elkwc
    12 years ago

Like Larry I eat many of mine raw. I peel and eat them. All of those the size of a small carrot or smaller I eat raw. The only taters that produced anything to speak of for me was those that sprouted slips in early July from a large odd shaped one I had never done anything with. So that is a good way to get slips for the next year I found out by accident.

• mulberryknob
    12 years ago