Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
canokie

More on raised beds (are they even a good idea in Oklahoma?)

Shelley Smith
10 years ago

After my 'Waist High Raised Beds' post, I've been doing some thinking and reading about raised beds in hot, dry climates and I have turned up some conflicting information. I'd love to hear what you all think of this. I love gardening in raised beds but I am still learning how to garden in Oklahoma and I have to say, while my yields do increase each year, they are far from impressive compared to what many others post here. So, after four years of gardening in raised beds, I find myself doing a bit of reassessment. Before I put money and effort into expanding my garden area and rebuilding some of my raised beds that are coming apart, I would like to be sure that what I am doing makes sense.

Do you think raised beds are a good idea in Oklahoma? If no, why? If yes, have you done anything to modify your raised beds to make them better suited to our climate?

I would especially love to hear from those who have gardened in raised beds and at ground level - which worked better for you?

And now for some of the confusing stuff I found online:

http://the-grackle.blogspot.com/2011/07/raised-veggie-beds-good-bad-and-ugly.html

This really caught my eye: "Raised-bed gardening can increase soil temperatures by eight to thirteen degrees over ground level soil temperatures." That seems like it would be counter-productive in our long, hot summers. On the other hand, if you mulch and use shadecloth, could you offset these negatives?

http://www.humeseeds.com/raised.htm

I also came across some info on sunken bed gardens, which is interesting. But since we can also get several inches of rain in a matter of days here in Oklahoma, maybe that wouldn't be such a good idea?

http://homeguides.sfgate.com/sunken-bed-gardens-vs-raised-bed-gardens-39865.html