Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newhippie

I could use a mentor...

newhippie
13 years ago

So we spent a lot of time and effort (and $$$) putting in a garden last year.

I am new to this.

My garden did not do well.

I did get lots of tomatoes that I managed to freeze and am waiting for my food mill to arrive, I prefer seedless tomatoes for cooking. I got that part.

But right off the bat last year, bugs just ran me over. I am in-love with the idea of organic gardening. Our children are young, and I want to teach them how to grow our own food. I read and read about how to do this, but I think I need to see some gardening in action, for example, I had no idea what the broccoli was supposed to look like until it had bolted, (it had vary small heads because I started it way too late.)And then the worms arrived and it was over.

I can't even talk about what happened to the squash.

Is there an organic gardener here in 6b who would be willing to let me into their garden? We live by keystone dam, but I go to Tulsa area regularly. I don't need someone to hold my hand, I just need to know when to plant in 6b, and what works for you organically. I wouldn't mind shadowing you if I could help you with some garden tasks, I need to learn. I doubt everything I do. It's just frustrating to be in this age group (thirties) where most of us have had no farming or gardening knowledge passed onto us. And even more frustrating is to have such a desire to garden, but have no green thumb whatsoever. I kill houseplants.

There are lots of local garden clubs I have heard of, I just get overwhelmed by all the info. Thanks for any advice!!! I appreciate it.

Comments (32)

• slowpoke_gardener
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago