Return to the Oklahoma Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
my tomatoe list

Posted by oldokie 6 (My Page) on
Sat, Dec 15, 12 at 22:16

you all plant tomatoes i have not heard of in the old days it was Rutgers marglow some of those
It is about the same as last year
sweet 100 pick and eat like grapes
sun sugar
early girl
whopper
juliet
lemon boy
jet star
may be a couple more if i find something at feed store or atwoods
looking at better beef have read it can stand hot weather

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: my tomatoe list

Hey OldOkie,

Do you mean Rutgers and Marglobe? Those were two out of three that my boyhood mentor insisted upon. They're GOOD tomatoes!

Your list looks like a good one for dependability. I have been reading a couple of posts, on the other thread, every day. But it's been growing so fast, I can't get to the end of it!

George
Tahlequah, OK

o

A lot of people on the forum grow a mix of hybrids and heirlooms. I am very new at growing tomatos and I have to grow mine in containers for purposes of space (I line my driveway with big buckets, ranging in size from 5 gallon to 30 gallon). I wish I could grow them in the ground....

You might consider growing a couple of heirlooms. Black Cherry, for instance, is an indet. cherry, that looks more purple to me than black, but that is what the kings of tomatodom have dubbed a black fruit in most cases. It is a sweet, earthy, bold, tomatoey flavor IME, and grows well in our Oklahoma climate.

There are a lot of suggestions on the thread Dawn began about the tomatos she plans to grow. Most of us take a page from her book on suggestions, which are usually a mix of heirlooms and hybrids. I think she is growing more hybrids this year, but with Dawn, you never know - she'll probably add a few more before she finally gets them all in the ground, huh, Dawn?

Susan

o

Oldokie,