Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sambo725

Organic fertilize program??

sambo725
14 years ago

I am pretty new to whole organic thing, but definitely want to try it. I have been doing organic gardening for a year now, and want to go all organic on my yard. I live in Florida and have ST. Augustine grass. If anybody can tell me what to use and when to use it I would really appreciate it. I have no idea what to use on a yard, blood and bone meal seem way too expensive to use on grass. I really like the idea of not using poison on my yard any more... Please help

Thanks

Sam

Comments (17)

• dchall_san_antonio
    14 years ago

Look for Organic Lawn Care FAQ. There's a copy on the Gardenweb organic forum and copies on lawn forums all over the Internet.

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago

There does not seem to be much good information about organic care of St. Augustine grass but that does start with the basics, a good soil well endowed with organic matter that is evenly moist but well drained. That is easier to do when establishing a new lawn but can still be done with an established one. Move away from the concept of feeding the lawn, fertilizing, and move toward the idea of feeding the soil. Start with a good, reliable soil test so you know what your soils pH and nutrient balance is. These simple soil tests can also help,
    1) Structure. From that soil sample put enough of the rest to make a 4 inch level in a clear 1 quart jar, with a tight fitting lid. Fill that jar with water and replace the lid, tightly. Shake the jar vigorously and then let it stand for 24 hours. Your soil will settle out according to soil particle size and weight. A good loam will have about 1-3/4 inch (about 45%) of sand on the bottom. about 1 inch (about 25%) of silt next, about 1 inch (25%) of clay above that, and about 1/4 inch (about 5%) of organic matter on the top.