Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smdmt

CGM question

smdmt
17 years ago

Spring can't be too far away! When do you put down your CGM? For chemical preemergents, it's said that you should do it when leaves begin to bud out on the trees. (?) Does it take longer for the CGM to "do its thing", thus it should be put down a bit earlier? I've never used it before, and am anxious to continue to be chemical free!!

Thanks for your suggestions!

Suz

Comments (31)

• deerslayer
    17 years ago

I've read that CGM should be applied when average soil temperature is between 52F and 58F. Many people apply CGM when the forsythias bloom.

-Deerslayer

• smdmt
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks. It will be easier to check soil temps rather than the forsythia bloom. We don't have a really hardy variety here and often the late freezes get the buds.
    S.

• Todd_In_Texas
    17 years ago

The way it works as a preemergent is it inhibits the growth of seed's tiny feeder roots by causing a break down in the cell wall. The seedlings struggle to get enough moisture, which causes them to die before they ever have a change to take hold.
    When used as a preemergent CGM should be applied in the 4-6 week time period before target-weed germination. In most case this is once in early to mid-spring and another in early to mid-August.

Deerslayer's right about doing it when the forsythias bloom.

-Todd

• ntbio
    17 years ago

You can check your local soil temp reading...usually there is a link on Univ. AG pages...apply when it is 50 degree F. Seeds begin to germinate when the soil temp reaches this temp...

• deerslayer
    17 years ago

According to Cornell University: