Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chueh_gw

True-Green company???

chueh
15 years ago

I have been doing organic gardening and lawn care for 2 years. Although my lawn (bermuda grass) has not improved at all, I am still keeping my organic concepts. I have had 80% weeds in all seasons and at least 20-30 varieties of them in my lawn. I have used pre-germinating product such as CORN GLUTEN MEAL to prevent weed seeds sprouting, and other organic fertilizers to help grass grow greener. However, nothing changed. I have not known any organic products that are organic for the existing weeds. Am I missing something?

Today, a True-Green law care company guy came to knock my door. They charge $35 per month to keep lawn green in summer time. I asked the guy what type of weed killers do they use. He was not sure, but asked my phone number to call me back after he found it out.

The guy called me and told me that the weed killer mixture they use is not sold at any nurseries, HomeDepot, or Lowes. OK.... so I asked him what is it consist of. He told me one ingredient is something like 5-k...... Blah blah... To me, it does not sound like organic. As far as I know, organic products are expensive. I spent a lot of money on Corn Gluten Meal just to prevent the weed seeds from sprouting. I can not imagine that there are organic products I can get cheaply to KILL EXISTING WEEDS. Are there such organic products?

Comments (10)

• dchall_san_antonio
    15 years ago

I do organic gardening because I'm cheap and lazy...and it works great. Have you read the Organic Lawn Care FAQ? There are some suggestions in that for inexpensive organic materials.

Watering
    How often do you water? Do you have an automatic system? How long do you water when you water?

Mowing
    How often do you mow? Do you mulch mow? How high/low do you mow?

Fertilizing
    What have you fertilized with? How often? Do you know how much you used?

• lou_spicewood_tx
    15 years ago