Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mamamermaid

Absolute beginner - less than beginner, really

mamamermaid
17 years ago

I've searched the web and I've perused all the Lawn forums including FAQs and I can't find anything to help someone with NO knowledge of yard care at all. I have NO idea what kind of grass is in my yard (my house is 51 years old). I don't have any idea where to start to figure out how to take care of a lawn.

I live in Austin, TX (hot!). I plan to eventually remove ALL the turf (that' some good lingo, right?) in the large sunny backyard and xeriscape. I have a small front yard with two huge oaks in it (lucky me cuz I like shade). I would like to know how to take care of the lawn in the front. Must be organic care!

What I really want to know is if someone can direct me to a book or website for the less-than-beginner?

We have a magnificent "natural" garden center here, but I'm kind of embarassed to go over there and ask the most basic questions.

Thanks, y'all!

Comments (9)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    17 years ago

Don't be embarrassed - everyone had to start someplace :-) If this is really a great "natural" garden center, then they will be more than eager to help educate you. As a member of the nursery industry for many years, my experience has been - at least in my area - that nurseries and garden centers want their customers to succeed and feel good about gardening. That's what keeps them coming back. And if organic or natural gardening is their philosphy, helping you to understand and adopt these methods will be high on their list.

I can't help you with your warm season grass, but I'm sure they can. And there really isn't too much difference between organic lawn care in warmer climates than there is up in the cooler north - you just substitute organic/natural products for the chemical ones.