Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
local_gal

Spring Fertlizer

local_gal
16 years ago

I am thinking of going organic and I am a newbie and need advice. We still have lot of snow on some parts of the lawn but the places where we can see grass, it looks pale yellow (it was lush green last fall and I overseeded the lawn). I did put the winterizer (Scott's).

Can I put down Milogranite as soon as snow melts to wake up the lawn? I don't want to put any pre-M as I want to get the front of the lawn hydro seeded this spring.

Please advice how to start the organic program.

Comments (5)

• bpgreen
    16 years ago

I may be mistaken, but I don't think fertilizing before the grass starts turning green helps it wake up. As I understand it, the grass will only use fertilizer if the grass is green.

• morpheuspa (6B/7A, E. PA)
    16 years ago

The grass won't use it until greenup (which, since you winterized, will be earlier than unfertilized lawns). Also, the Milorganite will require time to break down and feed the microbes which will then supply food to the grass.

Having winterized, early spring fertilization definitely isn't required (in NH, I'm presuming a cool season grass like fescue or KBG or perennial rye). You don't have to rush.

Whenever the snow melts and the ground dries out enough that you don't slide around is just fine. The Milorganite will take a week or three to become available, and gently feed the lawn.

Doing it right now would be fine, too--it'll wait for ground temperatures to rise and the microbes to awaken. It's just a lot more uncomfortable for you to be out there...

• fescue_planter
    16 years ago