Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
highalttransplant

Is it time to put down soybean meal in my zone???

highalttransplant
17 years ago

I am trying to use organics on the sod that was put down in the fall, but I am new to it, and not sure about the timing of things. Couldn't find CMG anywhere, but bought enough SBM for two applications. This week our highs are supposed to hit at least 60 and lows are at or above the freezing mark. Should I go ahead and apply it this week? Also, I don't know what to set the spreader on. The commercial fertilizers tell you on the bag, so not sure how to calculate. They are 50 lb. bags, and my lawn is ~ 5200 sq. ft. Someone help this newbie please!

Comments (12)

• dchall_san_antonio
    17 years ago

Settings on spreaders don't work for organics. Reason: the organics absorb moisture making them flow much better in Las Vegas (super low humidity) than in Houston. Your humidity would probably allow more flowing. What I did (when I used to use a spreader) was to measure out, say, 10 pounds into the spreader, set the setting to the middle of the dial, and walk the entire place or until I ran out of stuff. Then I would open the dial all the way and do it again. Then I would leave it all the way open and guess at how many times I would have to walk and rewalk to get it all out at the right rate. It turned out that I had to leave my spreader all the way open and walk it twice. That was for CGM. Other materials on other days would be different. Now I throw it by hand. Obviously pictures of my lawn are not going into Home and Garden. I'm much more interested in the process than in the appearance.