Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jjluna_gw

Does moss like lawn food?

jjluna
14 years ago

It was a warm, wet winter here in Seattle and the moss has taken over. I raked a lot out of my small front yard, aerated manually, and overseeded. But now I'm too pooped to do the same in the back which is a lot bigger. If I go ahead and give the back some Dr Earth's organic lawn food before I rake out the moss, am I just going to be feeding the moss and making it worse?

Comments (3)

• bgtimber75
    14 years ago

Calcium or Lime should help kill off the moss I would think. I'm new at this so I hope someone more experienced chimes in here for you.

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago

Moss is a first stage plant Ma Nature grows to cover bare soil. While many people think it grows on compacted, shady, acidic soils that are too wet I have moss growing in full sun on loose sand as well as crushed dolomitic lime and on the concrete blocks that are the house foundation.
    Look at your soil this moss is growing in to determine what needs to be done to make the soil good and healthy so it can grow what you want there. A good reliable soil test is a start so you know what the soils pH is and what needs to be done to correct that, if anything and dig in with these simple soil tests,
    1) Structure. From that soil sample put enough of the rest to make a 4 inch level in a clear 1 quart jar, with a tight fitting lid. Fill that jar with water and replace the lid, tightly. Shake the jar vigorously and then let it stand for 24 hours. Your soil will settle out according to soil particle size and weight. A good loam will have about 1-3/4 inch (about 45%) of sand on the bottom. about 1 inch (about 25%) of silt next, about 1 inch (25%) of clay above that, and about 1/4 inch (about 5%) of organic matter on the top.