Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caroot

New lawn, what to put down

caroot
14 years ago

Hi everyone, new person here. The last few days I have been reading alot in the lawn care forum.

I am interested in using organics as my fert but need help as I am new to organics.

I seeded a new lawn last fall w/kbg/rye

So far this spring it is coming in great. I fertilized in late march with turf builder.

Is it safe to use organics on the new lawn? I would assume yes

so my next question would be fertilize with what? When? and how much? How about after that?

Another question about organics is can they be used too act as a preemergent, like for crabgrass or other weeds? or a post-emergent?

Any specific rules regarding the use of organics on a lawn? Do's? Dont's?

What would a typical organic fertilizer schedule look like for the year?

Sorry for so many questions

Thank you very much

Comments (9)

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago

Simply substituting one type of fertilizer ("organic" for synthetic) is not what your lawn really needs. Doing so is somewhat better overall but looking at your soil and making that into a good, healthy soil that will grow a strong and healthy plant is what is needed.
    How much organic matter is in your soil?
    How well does your soil drain?
    What does your soil smell like?
    How good is the soils tilth (workability)?
    What kind of life is in your soil?

• caroot
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Well I have not had a soil test but here is what I have done so far to amend the soil;

1. last fall when our ash tree dropped it's leaves (I know having the lawn mower on the new grass was probably not the best for it) but I mulched up all the leaves and there were alot.

2.This spring I covered the yard with compost (I can get compost for free here from the parks dept.)

3. When it rains I see quite a few nightcrawlers the next morning.

4. I have not smelled the soil yet.

5. It seems to drain good. Do not notice any pooling.