Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smitty5952

organic failure

smitty5952
14 years ago

I have been doing organic lawn care for three years now and I have to admit my lawn looks worse now then when I started.

There are more bare spots and weeds then before. Also the turf is thinner too. The only positive I can see is that i have a lot of earth worms!

My yard is roughly 20K sq. ft. I put soy bean meal on 3x a year. 300 lbs. I mow high and frequently. The one thing I don't do is water frequently. Especially in the summer. I am on a well and can't justify have my well go dry for green grass.

Can anyone geive me suggestions before I go back to TruGreen?

Comments (8)

• dchall_san_antonio
    14 years ago

What kind of grass do you have? If you have fescue you might have gotten a disease in there that took it out. Fescue will not return by itself and must be seeded almost every fall. Kentucky bluegrass, on the other hand, will refill assuming you have FULL sun.

You might consider getting your soil tested, too. If organic doesn't work, something is wrong and it is not the fertilizer.

• smitty5952
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I have mostly fescue. I removed a portion of my sod this past weekend to plant some bushes and I noticed white grubs.
    Is milky spore the only organic method to get rid of those?
    I had my soil tested last year. i don't have the report with me but I recall my nitrogen content was low and my soil Ph was below 5. They recommended a large amount of lime for the soil. But I thought I read where lime is bad for the microbes?

• bpgreen
    14 years ago

If you have mostly fescue, it will tend to thin out and get clumpy with an organic program. If you treat it with chemicals, then over time it will tend to get clumpy and thin out.

In other words, that's a feature of the grass, not the treatment approach. A fescue lawn needs to be overseeded periodically to stay thick.