Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
archoo16

Complete newbie to backyard gardening!

archoo16
9 years ago

hi, I currently live in an apartment with my balcony garden. I will be moving soon into a house with a back yard. I have zero knowledge about lawn care, gardening soil , mulching etc.
So when I want to clear an area in my lawn to put tomatoes and bulbs, do i have to lift the grass on it and put it some where and fill the area with garden soil?

Comments (6)

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago

You will hear from many people that will tell you that you must pull that sod up. I find it unnecessary to do so and doing that removes needed organic matter from the soil as well as valuable nutrients.
    I have, many times, created new planting beds by simply covering the existing grass with newspaper (or cardboard) and a material to both hold that paper in place and to hide it and in several weeks what was growing there is now dead and being incorporated into the soil and I can plant what ever I want.

• archoo16
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you for your feed back. Do you moisten the paper? And once that is done, should I add gardening soil to the ground?

• Lalala (zone 6b)
    9 years ago

My guess is that if you want to plant soon (in the next month), you'll find it much easier to remove the grass than to try to cover it and work with the dead grass. If you want to wait until next summer or plant later in the summer, then covering it would make sense because there will be more time for the grass to start to break down.