Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dirt_man_gw

Hey okcdan

dirt_man
16 years ago

I also live in OKC and I'm new to organic lawn care. I saw a pic of your lawn in another thread and it looks great. I have a few questions for you:

I read the FAQ's and I need to apply compost to my yard. I checked the NWS and see we have a chance of storms for a few days starting Saturday evening. I got the impression that the beneficial organisms from the compost need to be soaked (watered gently) into the soil...would a heavy rain wash away my composting work?

Where do you do your shopping for your all your organic lawn care necessities?

If you don't mind, would you share your maintenance schedule with me?

Thanks a bunch

dirt man

Comments (12)

• okcdan
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hey dirtman

I have to tell you, unless you've had a chemical spill or recent flood, you have plenty of microbes in the soil. Once you begin feeding them with the protein based feed grains, they will multiply.

When I switched to organic, I too read the FAQ's & decided to topdress my lawn with compost, but if I had it to do over, I wouldn't. The thing is, it's a really tough backbreaking job. It takes a cubic yard of compost for every 1000sqft to apply @ 1/4" to 1/3" and you load it into your wheelbarrow, roll out to the area, shovel it out, then use a rake and/or pushbroom to even it out & knock it off the grassblades down to the soil. It's time consuming too. But really, it just isn't necessary in most cases.

If/when I ever decide to move & begin taking care of a lawn new to me that was previously maintained with chemicals, I'd just start using grains & stop using chemicals. If after 4 to 6 weeks I didn't see any noticable difference, then I'd apply some ACT. But, unless there's some extreme circumstances, I won't ever manually topdress a lawn with compost again :)