Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kathy_bochonko

coffee grounds--are they messy?

Kathy Bochonko
15 years ago

I am pretty new to all of this and have some questions about UCG. I have a kid and a big dog and am wondering if I use the used coffee grounds how long will I have to worry about them getting tracked all over my house? Will a good rain take of it or is more of a time factor? I am thinking if it is bad I might want to do it before we go away or something. Also would the coffee grounds replace a fertilizer treatment? I used CGM in early March and planned on doing another feed around Memorial Day with maybe Milorganite or Scott's Organic, haven't really decided might do something from the feed store. Would you do the coffee grounds in between or in place of the next feed? BTW, I have bermuda in front and Fescue in back.

Comments (5)

• bpgreen
    15 years ago

The coffee could probably get tracked in, but I don't think it would be any more noticeable than dirt, etc. The problem I have with the dog is that the "hockey puck" type from the espresso machines seem to intrigue the dog, and she seems to think that anything that smells so strong must taste good.

Coffee grounds are a mild nitrogen source (about 1-2% N) so they can be a fertilizer treatment. They're about all I use on my lawn any more, but I have a fairly small lawn and a mix of native grasses, KBG and fescue. From what I understand, bermuda is a heavy feeder, so I think it would be difficult to keep bermuda happy with coffee grounds.

• dchall_san_antonio
    15 years ago

Coffee grounds are pound for pound about the same as corn meal in protein content and fertilizer value. Coffee grounds are usually wet so comparing the weight is hard to do.