Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kcas72

Grass Clippings

kcas72
15 years ago

I have been using only organic fertilizers for the last 3 years. Currently I bag my grass after I mow. The reason I don't leave the clippings is because as with any organic lawn, I do have some weeds throught the yard. If I don't bag that, won't the weed clippings re-plant and cause a bigger problem with weeds? Also, although my Toro mower says it's a mulcher, I have my doubts. Someone once showed my a mulching blade, and I think it was 2 blades. Is it true that it's not a mulching mower if it has only 1 blade? If I don't have a mulching mower, is it still a good idea to leave the clippings?

Comments (9)

• billhill
    15 years ago

You made an excellent decision in switching to organic fertilizers. It is normally considered a best practice to mulch mow your grass clippings back into your lawn in order to recycle the nutrients in the clippings. Mulching your clippings should not increase your weed population to any great extent. Cultural practices are most important in quality lawn care. Water deeply but infrequently. If you have a Northern lawn, then cut it long. IÂm sure your Toro is a mulching mower. Typical mulching blades are two bladed (one piece of steel). Only some Lawnboy brand mowers, that I am aware of, have an additional star shaped mulching blade on top of the regular blade. Many discard this extra blade with the first sharpening. Make sure your blade is sharp and IÂm sure your Toro will mulch your clippings quite well. And if by chance your mower is not a mulching mower, Do continue to leave the clippings. Lawn clippings dry up and work their way into the grass pretty quick. Welcome, Kcas72, to the Gardenweb Organic Lawn Care Forum.
    Bill Hill

• kcas72
    Original Author
    15 years ago