Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
habiem_gw

Organic Cure for Thatch & Microbe Revival?

habiem
16 years ago

As with many of the postings I've seen, I'm new to this organic lawn care method. I'm a recovering Scotts addict. Earlier this spring I put down some Scotts fertilizer, but was disappointed in the results. It looks as if I have HEAVY thatch.

From reading this forum, I determined corn gluten meal would be a good way to go. So, I got some and put it down. So far, a good portion of the lawn looks a million times better. I also significantly backed off of the waterings and am doing a 'deeper' watering.

So, my question is, I still have a TON of thatch in many spots on the lawn. Again, from reading here, I see that the microbes that should be in my lawn are probably not there to eat up the thatch like they should be. Is there any way to get them to return? I'm afraid that if I don't lessen the thatch by summer, the 100 degree days are going to dry up portions of the lawn pretty quickly.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Comments (21)

• dao4686
    16 years ago

One solution if you have the time, energy and a little excess $$ is to put down a top dressing of compost. The microbes and organic matter will help degrade your thatch a little bit faster. Keep up the organic gardening, have some patience and it will get better without doing anything.

• whip1 Zone 5 NE Ohio
    16 years ago

Aereate and compost are the best soultions for the thatch problem.

• habiem
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I've read that sugar may help increase the microbes. Any truth to that?

Also, what type of 'compost' do folks put on their lawns? I've seen a few postings about it, but never any details on what the compost contains.

Thanks!

• lou_spicewood_tx
    16 years ago

The easiest solution is actively aerated compost tea which is the fraction of the compost cost and much less labor work...