Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
icutup

Please point me in the right direction for an organic lawn

ICutUp
16 years ago

Hello. I feel a bit lost even after reading many good things on your most excellent site. We have a chemical free St Augustine backyard in Central Fl (zone 9) with many weeds. I would like to go organic. I am experimenting with baking soda on the dollar weed and it seems to be working. Will this hurt the soil? What should I do next? Compost? Or can I skip to some type of fertilizer? Will corn gluten meal hurt pets?Is CGM better than the others? I really need someone to give me a step by step approach. I did read the FAQs, but I am floundering.

Thanks!

Comments (10)

• rickbubba
    16 years ago

Please keep in mind I'm just learning to but I downloaded PDF file for Deuley's
    little Texas compost tea maker (google search).I have bought all the suggested things needed to build it brewed some tea applied it. Also reading this is the most effective way to rebuild your soil after BS.
    Someone can correct me if this is not true.
    Maybe someone else can reply to your other questions.

• bpgreen
    16 years ago

The link.

Here is a link that might be useful: Deuley's Tea Maker

• skoot_cat
    16 years ago

How is the Baking Soda working on the Dollarweed?

I also have an Organic St.Augustine lawn (2nd year) in West Central FL with a dog and kids that love to play in the lawn.

To answer some of your questions I think that: 1. any time is a good time to put down compost especially in FL with our sandy soil. 2. Its too late for CGM as it's used mainly as a pre-emergent for weeds and no it will not hurt your pets, although they might try to lick the lawn. Just water it in and you'll be fine. Try putting it down in Mid Feb or before your lawn is actively growing