Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosarama_gw

Brown-out - help

rosarama
15 years ago

This is my first year of going organic. I have applied lots of compost so far as well as milorganite, soy meal and alfalfa. It looked a gorgeous shade of green

However, I am becoming nervous at several scorched areas due to recent temps of near 90. Aoart from constantly watering these areas. what can I do to help these areas retain moisture? I typically water with overhead sprinklers, twice per week.

I am fearful that eventually these scorched areas will become brown and then die and have to be replaced.

we just replaced sod to the tune of over $700.

Please help me!!

Comments (14)

• morpheuspa (6B/7A, E. PA)
    15 years ago

Depending on how "just" replaced those areas are, it may be that the sod hasn't had time to root yet. Normally, it should be kept damp for about 2 weeks after installation (not wet, though, just damp). Then back off and water every other day for at least 2 weeks, then every third day for 2 weeks, and so on until it hits the once a week (or twice weekly) of the rest of your lawn.

• rosarama
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Morph, it has long passed that stage. It was replaced as long ago as last October O and was growing nicely and greening up before the heat. What I don't understand is why some areas are so much more scorched than others, and also whether there is something I can do organically to prevent or protect the scorched areas from a complete brown-out.

15 years ago

October would mean it's still growing roots, depending on where you are. The only place getting scorched right now is down south, so I'm guessing you're way not in the PA area.

Still, roots are going to be a bit thin for the first full year. I'm going through that right now with an August-seeded lawn--we're hitting 80 for the first time today!