Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
baseballbob

Adding organic matter to lawn

baseballbob
14 years ago

What's the best way to add/increase organic matter in a 3 year old lawn? I have Palmetto St Augustine. My organic matter is 1.6%.

I have peat moss, peat humous, and compost. What's the best way to apply (I have 9,000sqft). And what's the best way to get it worked in and not just run off when it rains?

I'm new to this so thanks for any suggestions.

Comments (14)

• dchall_san_antonio
    14 years ago

First of all...do no harm to the organic matter you have. I'm referring to the microbes that live in the soil. They are the creatures that decompose stuff so that your plants can thrive. If you have any chemicals in your garage, get rid of them so you won't be tempted to use them. The microbes feed on food, not chemicals. Then start using organic fertilizer. Peat moss, humus, and compost are nice for many reasons but they do not replace organic fertilizer. The application rate for those materials you mention is 1 cubic yard per 1,000 square feet. Adding more to grass will likely smother the grass. St Aug smothers easily. After you get it scattered, use a push broom, leaf blower, or the back of a hard rake to bring the grass blades up from the top dressing and push the top dressing down to the soil. Dragging a piece of chain link fence around is perfect for getting the grass back up.

You don't need to work anything into the soil. Apply organic materials on top like Mother Nature does in the fall. If you aerate in the fall, you could apply again then to simulate the activity of dung beetles which bury nutrients in the soil. Rain usually does not float organic material away unless it is torrential.

Have you read the Organic Lawn Care FAQ?

• billhill
    14 years ago