Return to the Organic Lawn Care Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Even distribution of coffee grounds ...

Posted by estreya Southwest Washington (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 9, 07 at 13:08

Hello, everyone! I'm very very exited, because i just ordered my first bags of Corn Gluten Meal for my yard. My understanding is that i should wait till August to apply it in order to take advantage of its pre-emergent properties. And wait i shall. However, i'm so excited, i just had to order it now!

My question, though, is about used coffee grounds. What are you folks "in the know" doing to spread them evenly in your lawns? Can wet grounds be put into an ordinary broadcast spreader?

Also, i read that sugar is very good for an organic lawn. Does anyone have any experience with this? Is it worth getting a huge bag of sugar from Costco and spreading it around?

I'm new to all this, as is undoubtedly apparent. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Cheers!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Even distribution of coffee grounds ...

I don't worry about getting the grounds spread too evenly. I just walk around the lawn backward, shaking the bags back and forth as I walk. Some spots get a little more and some spots get a little less. It doesn't make as much difference with something like coffee grounds (not like chemical fertilizers where you can see exactly where they were spread heavier or lighter).

o

It might be best not to excede 1/8" layer of grounds. If the application method leaves hi & low spots then apply just before rain. as for myself, being low tech, I apply by using my hands - this way I can crush the "hockey pucks". Sometimes I mix with 50% compost, that saves a step. I have also used an hand held sifter, but it is no faster. I gave up on using a spreader. I guess a 10'x10' takes about 1 min, and you get to see every weed in the yard!
In the spring I had bare spots, but by selectively using compost & grounds on those areas they have disapeared.

o