Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
habiem_gw

Soluble Seaweed Powder & Rooting Question

habiem
16 years ago

I think I have a bit of a dilemma on my hands...Here's the deal, I want to water 1" once a week, however, I don't think the roots of my KBG are deep enough to support that. This is my first year of organic after LOTS of Scotts products for the last 2 years (the grass is only a little over 2 years old now).

If I deep water it, it starts browning in just 2 days with the 90+ degree weather we have going on here right now. I recently ripped up some sod for a small landscaping project, and I can tell you that the roots are no more than 1 or 2 inches down into the soil. So, my fear is that I'm getting water down deep enough, it's just that the roots aren't there, and naturally the top layer of soil (clay) is drying out quickly. (The lawn is cut to 4", by the way)

The backyard is especially bad. It gets full sun ALL day -- no shade. This is a brand new development, so no mature trees to provide shade.

I've seen lots of posts recently about the benefits of Soluble Seaweed Powder, one being root growth. So, will this help even at this time of year, or am I better off just getting through the summer, doing my best to deep water it, and in the fall & next spring, using Soluble Seaweed Powder and alfalfa to help root growth?

Thanks!

Joe

Comments (4)

• skoot_cat
    16 years ago

Does the grass actually turn brown in 2 days, or do the grass blades curl/wilt?

Grass blades wilt or curl in the heat of the day to conserve energy. Its perfectly normal and healthy. If by the next morning they are still curled or wilted, you need to water immediately.

Have you tried running your sprinklers to apply .5in of water, waiting an hour or so to let the clay soak, and then applying the other .5in of water.

You could also try cutting your watering in half. Say .5in twice a week, again letting it soak. .25in wait an hour or so, then the other .25in.