Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skoot_cat

Sod Webworms Again

skoot_cat
16 years ago

Well the Sod Webworms are back, 3rd year in a row now. From what I found, The webworms feed primarily at night and remain in a curled position on or near the soil surface during the day. The foliage may be almost completely stripped off in patches. These things cause serious damage to my lawn.

I purchase Bacillus thuringiensis (thuricide) which is used to control leaf eating worms. Has anyone had success with this?

I have St.Augustine Floratam sod and I live in West Central FL. I have maintained my lawn organically for 2 years now.

Comments (6)

• ronalawn82
    16 years ago

skoot cat, Bt. will work but the caterpillar must still be in the feeding stage. There is specific information at the website of IFAS/University of Florida website. edis.ifas.ufl.edu

• greenguerrilla
    16 years ago

Howdy, My name is Mathew. I'm a graduate of The Nature Lyceum. I'm certified in organic horticulture and work as an organic consultant.

Sod web worms. Lucky you. OK, lets solve this problem organically.

First, lest take a sec to look at this. Sod web worms are almost everywhere, so why are their so many eating your lawn! Maybe your lawn tastes better being organic and all! Seriously, a few things to consider:

Lawns, just like apartment buildings, and planets, lawns have a limited population density. Only so much flora and fauna can live together. If you have so many web worms that they are eating your lawn then it is likely that you do not have enough natural predators in your turf to "crowd out" the web worms. Ants, rove beetles, mites, and ground beetles are all natural sod worm egg eaters. The more of them, the less sod worms. Now think smaller. Beneficial nematodes, bacteria, fungus and other micro-organisms need to be present in a full orchestra of soil bio-function to truly support a strong, pest resistant, organic lawn.

Try this: