Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brkieffner

Getting a weed free lawn without chemicals?

brkieffner
12 years ago

Hello all!

I am new to the forum and I joined because I have started to become fascinated with gardening now that I have moved into a house.

My question: My lawn currently has weeds growing, dandelions, crabgrass, stuff that I find unpleasant and want to rid myself of. I'm trying to find the best way to get rid of weeds and unpleasantness without totally killing the entire lawn and starting over. I plan to grow quite a few edible plants (fruits, veggies, herbs, etc.) and I want to try my best NOT to use nasty chemicals if I can avoid it. Am I able to over-seed with the grass I want and it'll smother what's currently there or is there another option I have to take?

All opinions are greatly appreciated since I'm a newbie at most of this. I've read many things on gardening and I want to be as organic as possible and I just want a nice lawn. Thanks!

Comments (10)

• Kimmsr
    12 years ago

Growing a good healthy lawn starts with making the soil that lawn is growing in into a good healthy soil. What is the level of organic matter in your soil?
    What is your soils pH?
    How well does that soil drain"
    How well does that soil retain moisture?
    How is your soils tilth (workability)?
    What kind of life is in that soil?
    What is the nutrient balance of the soil?
    Contact your counties office of Purdue Cooperative Extension Service for information about where to have a good, reliable soil test done and then dig in with these simple soil tests,