Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
uneek205

Milorganite or soybean in south

uneek205
12 years ago

Hi,

I am new to the forum and i have just recently purchased a home. I am also new to lawn care so I apologize ahead of time if my question may seem stupid. I would like to take the organic route in my yard but need help.

I have read many good comments about milorganite and soybean meal. Would either of these be good to use on southern grass? If so, which would be the better choice and require less work but still keep my lawn looking good? I have Bermuda grass in Alabama. Please help me with a good brand to use also if soybean meal.

Thanks

Comments (4)

• Kimmsr
    12 years ago

Keep in mind that most all soybeans grown today are genetically engineered to be glyphosate resistant and that mnay make them unacceptable to someone growing things organically. Milorganite, or another sewage waste product, is good for warm season (southern) grasses as well as cool season (northern) grasses.

• david_tx
    12 years ago

I am not an organic purist. I use organic fertilizers on my Tif419 lawn because I like the results. I regularly use CGM, cotton seed meal, soy bean meal, and occasionally Milorganite on my lawn. I usually rotate between the different grains and throw in Milorganite once per season.

Bermuda is a nitrogen hog. I put out between 50 - 100 lbs of grain on my 4000 sq ft lawn monthly to keep it green. It's a little more expensive, but if you want "easy", go with the CGM. It's higher protein and you can use less of it. A 50 lb bag costs me almost $30 and will keep my lawn looking good for 6 weeks or so.