Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtgavin

Fungus and Thatch issues - Argh!

mtgavin
16 years ago

Hi -

I am here to share my story in case anyone can lend a helping hand. I have been trying organic lawn care for the past few years and heave read the FAQ and the threads already in place in this forum, so I have some background. Still I thought I would share my pain, maybe someone can help me.

Short Story: I live in Eastern Iowa and have Kentucky Bluegrass yard with a irrigation system. Over the past two-three weeks, a lot of my yard has turned matted and light (straw) brown, due to what appears to be a very bad fungus problem (Necrotic Ring Spot, at a minimum) and is heavily thatched. Trying to solve organically, but SOON as the lawn is dieing QUICKLY.

Long Story: I bought my current house, last August 2006 so we have been here less than a year. The prior owners left me a lush green lawn, although I noticed the fungus rings when we bought the house last August. They used a lawn service for fertilization/mowing, and ran the sprinklers frequently (did not even turn off if it rained!) They also ran the sprinklers overnight (like 12 PM - 6 AM). I knew this was all bad for the lawn so this year I started implementing my organic program (CGM around April 1; mulching mower, no bagging; hardly use the sprinkler at all). I did not apply any fertilizer of any sort, last fall, by the way.

This was working pretty well for me until about three weeks ago, when it turned hot and dry for a spell. All of a sudden the lush green turf starts getting brown, and matted. I called a lawn service professional (not organic - we don't have those here) and he indicates thatch and fungus (confirming my suspicions). I suppose the fungus is due to the prior owners' overwatering of the lawn, and at night, to boot!